Always on TDS Meter that sends alerts or ties into the Apex.

MTWiley

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm not very experienced at electrical engineering, but I'd like to start on a project of modifying an inline TDS meter, the end result that I'd like to see is:

1. Using a wall wart as the power supply instead of the battery(needed to make 2 possible at a reasonable cost)

2. Always on(currently my TDS meter requires me to push the power button and then automatically turns off after a while)

3. When the TDS gets to be above a threshold for 5 minutes (say 1 for example) it will either close a relay that's tells my trips a switch on my breakout box and I can send alerts/know it's time to replace DI via my Apex/Fusion or if I have to use an RPI/Arduino to accomplish this sends the alert itself and emails me saying that it's time to replace the DI Resin.

Is this something that a person who is fairly technical(Senior Network Engineer specializing in network automation by day and plumber/electrician/avid-diyer around the house) could expect to be able to accomplish? And if so do you have any suggestions on where to get started?

oceanlife83

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am not familiar with Apex but I know that using an arduino and a tad meter to pull in the values would work then you could send the info from the arduino using web server to get alerts.

cromag27

octoaquatics.com - ig = @octoaquatics. view my sig
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I understand your goal, and this may not help you achieve it, but keep in mind that inline tds meters are not that accurate. A high quality handheld is much more accurate.

cypho

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This should actually be very easy. There is no difference between a TDS sensor and a salinity sensor. (Not strictly true, but for our purposes the differences do not matter)