ATO Reservoir Ideas

CodyRVA

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Finally debating kicking the home depot bucket (my current ATO reservoir), but I have no interest in paying for a prefabbed fancy acrylic box. Anyone care to chime in on any safe DIY or manufactured container options out there while keeping space restrictions in mind?

Idoc

Getting lazier and lazier with upkeep!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I went with the 5g food grade bucket and glad I did... very convenient. You could always use a 10g aquarium as the ato resevoir.

kevyg

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
5 1/2 gallon tank from petco is a conveniently sized option. If you feel like it you can get a piece of plexiglass, cut it to the size of the top of the tank. Drill some holes for the tubes, then paint the whole outside black (Or your preferred color).

Just fyi, I am a fan of rustoleum Professional black. The nozzle gives a nice spray pattern. It also will paint most everything.

OP
OP
CodyRVA

CodyRVA

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks all! So, basically the home depot bucket in the living room isn't the most appealing thing to look at. If I can get a small container under my stand, understanding i'm sacrificing total volume, I would like to see what's out there. If I can't find or make something i'll leave the bucket. I'm limited on space with just 7 X 7 X 27 inches of space. I could make a tall cube acrylic container, but would love to find something I can drop in there.

It's an 80G system so I really don't need the full 5 gallons I get now with the HD bucket, I'd be willing to go down to 2.5-3 G.

I do use two brute trash can's for water storage, but seeing as I rent and I keep them in the garage; I have no way of getting the water from the garage into the living room, thus the need for the home depot bucket.

redfishbluefish

Stay Positive, Stay Productive
View Badges
Reaction score