Best sump design with refugium

Bdroid

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi! I’m new to setting up a saltwater tank and I’m currently looking into designing one of 40 gallon tank into a sump with a refugium to work with my bean animal setup.
on a 80 gallon tank. Been googling for some ideas and was wondering if anyone can share some of your setup and the reason why you chose the design you picked. Thanks in advance!

Reef-junky

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The common design would be the return in the middle and the refugium last. You can feed the refugium from the bleed off the return pump.

Reef-junky

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My set up has two sumps. First the refugium then in the middle an ATS and last the return. The ATO feeds in before the bubble trap. The dosing pumps feed into the first chamber of the main sump and carbon. My heaters are in the refugium.

01844750-C0C8-4752-9052-EE82638C73C8.jpeg

D6DF33DB-1E42-4E41-8F25-8831036142F4.jpeg

Mandelstam

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
For me the best design is to have the fuge as a separate tank off the main equipment sump. A bit more options for any upgrades as well as being easier to shield from parts where you don't want any light. But of course it all depends on the larger picture and if you're running Triton for example.

Even Further

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would do something along the lines of the below image. Place the refugium on one end, with a tall baffle. That will increase the volume of the fuge. Tee off the return pump with a valve to control the flow into the fuge.