Bizarre Water Parameters

aandrin00

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everybody! I've gotten so much help reading posts here on R2R in the past, so I'd like to thank the community for that, but this is my first time actually posting. I'm super confused, so I'm hoping you guys might be able to shed some light.

First some background: I set up this 20 gallon all in one tank about 3 months ago with dry rock. Since it's bare bottom and has a relatively small volume of rock I also added about a dozen of those 2" marine pure cubes and a bunch of the marine pure gems. I used Brightwell microbacter start and dosed the recommended amount of ammonia. Up until about 10 days ago the tank had no livestock, at which point I added a midas blenny. I turned the lights on about 5 days ago when I added a few frags.

A couple of days after adding the fish I tested ammonia and nitrite just to be safe and both were at 0 ppm. Yesterday I tested all of the following parameters and almost none of the results make sense to me.

pH = 7.64 (I just calibrated my pH probe, turns out it was way off - it was reading close to 8 until I calibrated). The red sea test kit shows about 8.0 though.
S.G. = 1.025
Ammonia = 0.2 ppm (red sea)
Nitrite = 0 ppm (red sea)
Nitrate = 0.00 ppm (hanna)
Phosphate = 0.03 ppm (hanna)
Alkalinity = 6.7 dKH (hanna)
Calcium = 393 ppm (hanna)
Magnesium = 1540 ppm (red sea)

I've been using HW reefer salt, and since the tank was set up I've done several large water changes. Yesterday after I measured all these parameters I did another 5 gal water change. I've been mixing up salt water and it stays circulating and heated in a 20 gal container until I need it. After yesterday's water change I mixed up a new batch to have on hand - stuck the pH probe in there out of curiosity and it was at 8.15, this morning it was down to 8.00, and now it's 7.92.

- The pH of 7.64 in the tank seems crazy low. It's 7.77 now but still low.