Budman’s 40g Innovative Marine Build!

Budman93

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone! Ive been reefing since i was 14 years old. 15 years later i think im ready to fully embrace what ive learned and i feel like i now have a grasp on the hobby. My last build 6 years ago was going well until dinos took off and then we proceeded to lose power for 4 days from a massive snowstorm. Apparently tropical fish dont do well in those conditions .

I plan on getting a 40g aio IM cube and setting it up over the next several months. Stocking list undecided but am thinking about getting a breeding pair of pygmy filefish. Will mostly be sps and maybe some gorgonians or macro algae.

Price wise the IM seemed like the best deal for me. Was also really looking at the 35.2 waterbox but those are sold out until May. So IM it is. Like the aluminum stand and the fact it comes with a lid too. Will be picking up tomorrow from my LFS, feels like christmas!

OP
OP
Budman93

Budman93

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Had some dry rock that has been outside at my dads for years. Will need to scrub off the organics and cure so its safe to use.

Ive already been aquascaping it a bit. Pukani is impressive with just how easy it is to stack. This is what ive come up with so far. I like this because it has overhangs, cavs, and arches for inverts and fish to hide. Thinking about removing the rocks on the right of the first pic and just having an open seabed with maybe some plants or taller corals to fill in that space. Still a work in progress!

Attachments

• 46881FA1-9E5B-4E55-BBAD-CDC06AEDF74E.jpeg
    46881FA1-9E5B-4E55-BBAD-CDC06AEDF74E.jpeg
    292.4 KB · Views: 61
  • DE6F587B-25BC-4989-9187-4E037E0394D6.jpeg
    DE6F587B-25BC-4989-9187-4E037E0394D6.jpeg
    236.3 KB · Views: 46
OP
OP
Budman93

Budman93

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
After two weeks of figuring out how to plumb the rodi in my condo we have water!!

Attachments