Caulerpa gone sexual and affecting zoa's and softies?

schooncw

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My zoa's and torches have been looking horrible for quite some time and I think I may have figured it out! I have a macro algae reactor with Chaeto but it seems some Caulerpa got in and grew like crazy. I have removed it but would it going "sexual", have caused my zoas to stay closed and cause some to just drop off? I am literally, at my wits end here.
Any advice is appreciated.

Tamberav

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Did it actually go sexual? If so… it should have turned clear and sometimes the tank gets cloudy.

Did you test nitrate and po4 since it grew like crazy?

reddevilant

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You're likely going to need a water change or two. I'm not experienced with corals but I am with macros. When they go sexual they release everything they were soaking up. Nitrates, phosphates, carbon, etc. could possibly have spiked unless you have some other type of nutrient export. So you should probably test your water if you haven't already.

reddevilant

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You're likely going to need a water change or two. I'm not experienced with corals but I am with macros. When they go sexual they release everything they were soaking up. Nitrates, phosphates, carbon, etc. could possibly have spiked unless you have some other type of nutrient export. So you should probably test your water if you haven't already.
But like @Tamberav said, that is if the caulerpa definitely went sexual.

mdb_talon

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have had it happen before but the entire tank went very cloudy it was hard not to miss. Maybe with a much smaller amount like you may have you would not notice. In any case test your parameters if you are not seeing nutrient spikes then it probably did not go asexual and likely not your issue.