Clean up crew QT?

dndlyon

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
There was a comment in today's QOT (question of the day) that has me wondering:

Do you quarantine or otherwise inspect/dip/etc your clean up crew?

I've never done this before because I assumed whatever comes with them is nothing I could get rid off. I purchase from places I trust, and hope for the best - similar to using "approved suppliers" in other industries. I look them over for overall health/activity/obvious hitchikers and put them in.

Would love your thoughts!

Didn't want to sidetrack the original thread, so started a new one. You can find it here.

Thread 'Time to restock: How often do you refresh your clean-up crew?' https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/t...en-do-you-refresh-your-clean-up-crew.1027016/

E.R.A.

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Always check the back of shells. Ive seen some nasty stuff on them that you dont want in a tank. normally some spot treatment is fine. H2O2 normally does it not a dip.

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
excellent thread. anything wet from a pet store=vector of pestilence.

it wasn't like this in 2005

but people still stock their tanks like they did in 2005, skipping preps, and that's what makes todays disease forum the busiest forum on the site by far, thousands of jobs worked by jay, and nearly all of them = biosecurity incompletions.

it became an urgent matter when we started losing fish to the degree we are losing them to transmissible diseases in the majority of cases vectored right over with a lazy antiseptic handling method.

jda

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0