Copepods in sump?

Baby Ray

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, i am kind of new to this hobby and i was wondering what you need to do to keep copepods in your sump. I have heard that some people just drop them in their sump and they do fine. I have also heard people keep separate tanks (not an option for me). What is the best, easiest, and cheapest option for me. Thanks

I have a 29 gallon tank
20 gallon sump
Eshopps psk-75 protein skimmer
eheim 2000 compact return pump
100 watt heater
jebao rw-4 power head

DeniseAndy

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Copepods will thrive where ever there is food for them. If you have no fish that feast on them, eventually your tank will be covered and that is good. That is why people put them in sumps. No fish to eat them. They grow and multiply and then eventually work their way to the main system through pumps and feed fish and inverts and corals. Normally, live rock or even a coral will bring them to your system. However, I like to add various species every now and then for diversity.

OP
OP
Baby Ray

Baby Ray

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What do they eat? Do I have to feed them? Thx for the quick reply

OP
OP
Baby Ray

Baby Ray

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I saw on live aquaria that they eat detritus. I'm pretty sure that detritus is poop or left over food. I have a sea urchin in my sump and he poops a lot, so could copepods eat the sea urchin poop?

ClearRain

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Detritus is left over food or other organic matter. Unless the pods have somewhere to colonize in the sump, theyll just get sucked up by the return pump. A lot of people use refugiums to keep pods. They are available as in tank boxes, hang-on boxes, and built into some sumps. I have a big clump of cheato in my tank that the pods populate.

OP
OP
Baby Ray

Baby Ray