Dwarf Seahorse clean up crew

AxolotlOverlord

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi guys! I'm completely new to R2R and also to saltwater, but I've been keeping a dwarf seahorse tank for a month and a half now. The adults are all doing quite well and breeding lots, but I have so much algae!! I was wondering, what are some fun tankmates/clean up crew to help out with the algae and eat dead bbs? Right now it is just my little lettuce nudibranch. I am also concerned since I have lost a few fry, is that normal? Or a sign that something is wrong?

IMG-9971.jpg IMG-0190.jpg

rayjay

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I never use cleanup crew as the large water changes I do are sufficient.
Loss can be due to them being older than others you received or it could be due to bacterial infections internal or external caused by water quality due to insufficient husbandry and water changes for the conditions you are keeping them in.
It can also be due to poor nutrition if you are not enriching the brine nauplii properly or with the proper enrichment.
If you are leaving the nauplii in for more than a day, the nutrition they were enriched with will be basically non existent by that time and if the dwarfs are still feeding on them either instead of or along with newly enriched naupii, they might gradually go downhill with the weakest dying off first.

OP
OP
A

AxolotlOverlord

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have no measurable nitrates/nitrites and usually feed one day freshly hatched bbs and the next day off those same shrimp but once they're enriched. I've lost about 4 out of 30 something fry. Do you think it's better to feed only enriched or do you think fresh hatched then enriched is a good schedule?

PicassoClown04

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0