aquatic26

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone. I am new to salt water aquariums, but have had fresh water for many years. I live in an apartment in the city and have minimal real estate for a large set up, so I purchased the Waterbox 15 AIO Peninsula tank and plan to have a pair of clowns, maybe a Randall's pistol shrimp/goby pair, CUC, and softies (maybe LPS in the future). As I do research, I find myself wondering what is a "nice to have" versus a "need to have" with several technologies. I know that coral and saltwater tanks in general are much less forgiving than fresh water, but I also am not going to be housing thousands of dollars worth of corals. So, my question is, of the following devices, which is a "must have" and which can I either do without or do without the most fancy/expensive version of?

1. ATO (already decided this is a must have, looking for recommendations of one suitable for the WB15 that won't break the bank)
2. Inkbird or similar heater controller (thinking of doing a 75 watt eheim jager heater)
3. Wave maker
4. Light (I know this is a need to have, but wondering if there are any recommendations of a good light that isn't $250 like the WB recommended AI 16 Prime)
5. Return pump (reading that the one the WB15 comes with is lousy and recommendations of the Tunze 1073.008. Any personal experience with this?)
6. Any other equipment I should have on my radar?

Thank you all!

Doctorgori

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m biased against heaters but that’s hardly a popular opinion, your choice if you don’t believe your ambient temps are adequate

I do think wave makers and alternating flow is mandatory… how exactly you implement it is a choice

I’ve gone skimmer less, you can adjust to life w/o one

same for filter socks

I have 8 AI primes but replaced 3 power bricks, my endorsement is wavering