GFO and Carbon help

goody

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've never run either one before, and I recently purchased a BRS single reactor. I'm planning on using a MJ900 and put both media in the reactor. I don't have the room for a dual reactor.

Since this is my very first time using, how much of each media do I put in the reactor? How long do you suggest I keep this amount in before replacing? And any suggestions on how much to increase before I reach the "normal" operating amount?

I have the ROX 0.8 and GFO granules from BRS.

I have a 90g with 30g sump. Tank is mixed reef with mostly zoas/palys and now a lot of sps frags.

lazyreefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I wouldn't mix the two myself, but I'm not a big fan of running carbon 24/7

I've never used the ROX but I when I have used the Black Diamond carbon in the TLF reactor I get tons of dust turning my pre-filter or filter sock black. I assume I am running too much pressure through it and the carbon is being dissolved - but I have a gate valve on it and have dialed it down. Its tied into my Mag 18 pump return lines so I'm not sure what < 30gph rate of flow looks like.

Not having mixed them before, my TLF reactor per their instructions has the cannister able to be filled with carbon all the way, but only a maximum of 5 inches of Phosban. I don't know why that is, maybe the phosban requires more flow to be going through it. To add more confusion the instructions say something about being able to mix carbon....well, it states this....

"Don’t over or under fill the column. Max 5 in (13 cm) of GFO media, min 2 in (5 cm). When using only activated carbon, the entire column can be filled. PhosBan may be mixed with phosphate-free activated carbon (HydroCarbon2 from Two Little Fishies). This can provide the necessary media volume when less than 100
grams (190 ml) of PhosBan is used."