Hello from Columbus, Ohio!

btdz

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello r2r!

My name is Ben and I am from Columbus, Ohio. I'll be 30 in September and I've never owned an aquarium.

Long story as short as possible, I have a best friend/colleague who was recently given a freshwater tank as essentially decoration in his home by his fiancé. Shortly after she bought him the tank, they split up and I have since been taking care of his tank mostly out of necessity because, frankly, he is a bit of a bum. I couldn't stand to see those poor fish living in squalor because of his laziness so I've been maintaining it for the last several months. During this time I have found an absolute love of all things aquarium. Cleaning, organizing, watching, listening- I get an unbelievable kick out of his tank. After about 12 weeks of taking care of the tank at his house, last night at about 11pm I decided I wanted my own tank to enjoy at my own home.

Fast forward to about 11:30pm and I have now discovered reef tanks! (Not sure if that's the proper term yet, sorry!). I stumbled across some pictures of beautiful reefs crawling with life and vibrancy and I knew right away I wanted my first tank to be both saltwater and full of beautiful corals. The time, patience, discipline, and hard work that goes into a reef sounds so intriguing. Not to mention how stunningly beautiful they are.

I stayed up last night until about 6:45a when the sun started to rise, having no idea I had become so enthralled with researching reefs that it had been almost an entire work day's worth of reading online through the night.

So here I am, hat in hand, ready to take a dive (pun intended ) into being a reefer hobbyist.