Help with my ich situation

dmort

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Howdy all, I have a sumpless 55 gallon tank in its early days. Tank is stocked with a bicolor angel, royal gramma, and a pair of clowns. No coral. Assorted CUC. Serpent star.

I noticed ich yesterday evening on the Angel and today on the Gramma. Since then, they have been moved into a 10 gallon QT tank (heater and HOB filter).

I've done all the reading I can do and I know that the choices are hyposalinity treatment or copper. I'm going with copper, because despite that it can be stressful, I don't think I'm going to be able to keep up with the demands of hyposalinity (I'm a teacher, this is a really busy time of year).

The question is:

Can a 10 gallon tank, with an every other day 50% water change (I think I can swing that), accomdate all my fish? I know it is best to treat them all as they are likely all hosting the parasite.

I also have a UV sterilizer inbound, which I will run at a very low GPH to address parasites in the main tank. The clowns show no sign of infection and are eating well. Is hoping for the best, by leaving the clowns in the main display with the UV sterilizer, a foolish idea?

If the 10 gallon can handle all the fish, I'll move them all. I just don't want to introduce a second problem by over crowding a tiny tank for 6-8 weeks.

Defective_Weeble

Salty
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey there. Sorry for the ich pains. I feel your pain as I'm battling an outbreak myself.

If the fish are small then you should be fine. I'd give them a few PVC fittings to hide in. Quite a few, in fact. The biggest concern that I'd have is maintaining the appropriate dose of copper in a tank of that size. Any evaporation has the ability to spike the copper to a dangerous level pretty quickly.

Otherwise, I'd say you're good to go, again with the assumption that the fish are all no bigger than 3 or 4 inches. They'll be cramped, but they'll be OK.

3dees