How to cycle my biocube

abryant

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I’ve had my biocube 32g set up for about a week now and I put live rock and live sand in there and used imagitarium water from the pet store what should I add to the water to build up the proper bacteria to add fish and when should I do my first water change and about what percentage should I be doing?

Im new to the hobby so any input would be great thanks!

EeyoreIsMySpiritAnimal

Just another girl who likes fish
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

EeyoreIsMySpiritAnimal

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

EeyoreIsMySpiritAnimal

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

RandomUser7

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you used live rock and live sand then all you would need to do is add a source of ammonia. There is already plenty of beneficial bacteria in your rock if it's truly live rock. If your pet store doesn't sell bottled ammonia add a small amount of fish food everyday and test the water for ammonia and nitrates. The advice I recieved is to not do your water change for 2 months to let the beneficial bacteria build up. If you do add fish within those two months only add in one fish and don't do add in anything else. Remember that as water evaporates from the tank, you need to add in RO/DI water to replace the evaporated water.

kevgib67

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I started my Biocube with live rock and sand. I waited a week to test and it was cycled and I added two clown fish. That was over 14 months ago. Your live rock has enough bacteria to have a minimal to no cycle. When you test and there isn’t any ammonia and nitrate is present you are good to go ( if nitrate is over 20 do 20% wc). I do 4 gallon water changes weekly. Feel free to hit me up with any other or new questions. Good luck!

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges