Reefer37

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Alright guys, I'm getting a little frustrated over dosing and what is going on in my tank.
I'm still pretty new to this as this is my first saltwater tank so bear with me.

So I'll give you all the info I can:

JBJ 45
Lighting: Hydra 52 HD (ran around 30%)
Filtration: Stock media baskets (filter floss, o-rings, and Chemi-pure that I need to switch out this weekend)

Been up and running about 6 months now.
I have a pair of clowns, firefish, Randall's goby/pistol shrimp pair, Melanurus wrasse, and a bicolor blenny.

I usually do water changes once a week of about 5g. This week I was trying out going two weeks to work on getting nitrates up because I never seem to get a reading on my API test.
I use water from my LFS that I trust who used Fritz salt (usually try to shoot for around natural sea water levels)

I have (what I believe to be) a pretty low demand as far as corals go because I don't have a whole lot, but my numbers are telling me otherwise and I just don't know what to do.
I have 2 acans, a favia, 2 torches, 2 blastos, a duncan, hammer, frogspawn, bunch of zoas and mushrooms, a toadstool and that's really about it.

So I've been trying to figure out dosing with this tank.

2 days ago I tested and got the following levels:
pH: 7.8
Ammonia: 0
Nitrites: 0
Nitrates: 0-5ppm (near impossible to tell on API test)
Cal: 380
Alk: 7.5
Mag: 1290

I am dosing Red Sea Liquid Foundation 3 part solution.
Added 8ml of Calcium, 8ml of Alk, and 30 ml of Mag.

Yesterday I got the following numbers:
pH: 8.1-8.2
Nitrates: 0-5ppm
Cal: 420
Alk: 8 (hard to tell exactly on API test)
Mag: 1330

So got really good numbers but still a few things weren't too happy. Mostly my acans, and hammer and frogspawn. So I waited till today to re-test before dosing more.

Today here's the numbers:
pH: 7.8 (huge swing and I don't know why)
Nitrates: 0-5ppm
Cal: 380
Alk: 7
Mag: 1280