Looking for Advice...

divecj5

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As the title says, I'm looking for advice and suggestions on nano's. I currently have a 55 gallon reef with about 5 different zoas/palys, a colony of candy cane, some rics, mushrooms, a nice acan, and a frogspawn from Rev that is about the size of a mini basketball now. I recently became engaged about a month ago and I will be moving within about 6 months. I have had my 55 gallon up and running for about 8 months now and I have loved every minute of it although there are several things that I would/want to change with my setup. I'm really just looking to get a fresh start with things and since now I have some more experience and I know what I'm interested in housing (mainly acans, rics, and zoas) I will setup for that.

As with my 55 setup, I have been doing my research on here and over at NanoReef forum to get some ideas. What I am leaning towards is getting the Oceanic Biocube 29. I am thinking about getting the Tunze 9002 skimmer (which I will need to mod the back middle compartment a bit to fit), replacing the factory pump with the Rio 6HF, and using some locline with a Y split to get some flow to different areas. I am looking to get the Nanotuners 4.36 upgrade for the lighting since it doesn't seem like the stock lighting is adequate.

Since I am still in the initial research phase, I just wanted to get some of your opinions on the Biocube and some possible other options. Other options would be the Cadlights or Finnex tanks.

Thanks for any help or suggestions.

Adam

colinadam

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
With the biocube you don't really get 29 gallons of space. If you contact Oceanic they will tell you that it is a market designation and the size of the tank is more like 22-23 gallons. Still a very nice tank though.

I have a 24g nanocube with the 108W PC nanotuners hood. Great hood and their craftsmanship is top notch.