Newly Joined member and rookie Reefer from Canada

samdinhkhuong

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Greeting to all fellow reefers of R2R!
I'd like to begin to with "WOW!, what a great and friendly knowledgeable community that stumbled into." Please allow me to introduce myself.
I'm an absolute noobie in saltwater and corals hobby. I started my first 20gal saltwater system about 2 years ago with 2 clownfish and some snails to learn basic chemistry and control parameters of saltwater. I was always mesmerized by corals and always dreamed 1 day I'm capable of caring for them in an aquaria environment that they will thrive. On February this year I could no longer hold off my temptation of setting up an "real" reef tank; so I built myself a bigger system with proper equipments to assist my lack of experience and knowledge in reef. My new system is just over 6 months now and I started to add my first coral (zoas and clove polyps) 3 months ago. After a month they started to propagate and looked healthy, I decided that it's time for sps so I've been adding sps to my system every 10 days for 2 months now. All livestock in my system seem to do well with some sps already started to grow.

I already stuffed my biology and chemistry books back on the shelves since I found this forum community because I realized that it is actual hands on knowledge and aquaria focus being discuss here; rather than general texts that may or may not applies to controlled reef environments.

I'm keen to learn and gain more knowledge through all members in this awesome of a respected community. I also hope that everyone bare and have patience with my future questions since every issues I encounter will be new to me although I haven't experience any major issues.... yet.

MUCH APPRECIATED and Happy reefing! Below is my system information:

DT: Bare bottom 65gal (42x20x18inches)
Sump: 30gal 6 chambers with dual filter socks
Lights: radion xr30 x 3
Pumps: Vectra m2 return, mp10 x2