OP
OP
Dan7575

Dan7575

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You can use it, I'm just suggesting caution as the formulation of the probiotic component of their salt is unknown. It is usually something like a bacteria strain and a carbon source. By using Nopox you are adding additional food for the bacteria which can result in it being more effective.

FWIW, NoPox is simply 50% Acetic Acid (Aldi white vinegar), 37.5% ethanol (Cheap Vodka) and 12.5% RODI water. Many folks make their own.

I simply dose extra vinegar and save the vodka :)

The 'bioavailable carbon source' could be anything but will be along the lines above.
Thanks for your help with this, I am just starting to learn a bit about carbon dosing. I am interested to read on the Quantum website that their Phos remover is different to carbon dosing, this is what they say

"Phosphate exists as ionic and chemically bound by calcium, this causes fluctuations of calcium, stunted coral growth rates as well as the false reading of low phosphate due to the inability for test kits to be able to test for bound phosphate. Media & carbon sources remove the ionic phosphate but take long to remove the bound phosphate due to its high stability.

Our phosphate remover will precipitate out both ionic and chemically bound phosphate and place it in existing filter wool/socks. Note: A fine white film building on the glass indicates that you are overdosing, we recommend adjusting your dose and using our White Film Remover to safely clean any build up"

It sounds better to me but it also sounds like marketing speak otherwise why would you use anything else?

gbroadbridge

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks for your help with this, I am just starting to learn a bit about carbon dosing. I am interested to read on the Quantum website that their Phos remover is different to carbon dosing, this is what they say