Tank Builders Help

AScarbro14

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm tossing around the idea of build my own tank. It would be a 36x24x24 rimless. My question is would 1/2 sides and 3/4 bottom be adequate to support the weight of the water? I've never built a tank before but I believe I am about to do it. Just looking for some extra tips.

143MPCo

ASSIST PROTECT DEFEND
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Glass or cell cast acrylic?

Aussie paul

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Should be ok if your a cautious person like me you can always add glass rods in corners for extra strength

OP
OP
AScarbro14

AScarbro14

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How did you add the rods? I've look all over the Internet and can't really find much on building tanks other than how people lay it out before hand.

143MPCo

ASSIST PROTECT DEFEND
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

Aussie paul

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
All you do is build the tank then add the rods to the inside of each corner with a bead of silicone up each side of the rod. It adds extra surface area for strength in the corners

143MPCo

ASSIST PROTECT DEFEND
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
3/4 bottom be adequate to support the weight of the water
if you can source it 1/2" tempered glass would also work and cut down on weight.

143MPCo

ASSIST PROTECT DEFEND
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Momentive silicone RTV108 or 103 are the best choices, this is a sealant and promotes exceptional adhesion.

Aussie paul

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Tempered glass is ok as long as you don't intend on drilling it. I always use plate glass just my preference don't like the idea if something fails the glass shatters

Kresimir_72

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0