"Upgrade" RO/DI filtration system?

Waboss

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
9   0   0
Ok, so here's my situation, and I'm hoping some of you water quality guru's can help me out.

My TDS seems to creep up quickly after replacing the sediment and carbon filters, and the RO membrane (we'll get to my DI resin in a moment). My water, from the tap, is 162 TDS, right after my RO membrane (prior to the DI resin), it starts at about 15 and ends up at about 23 after a couple of weeks (so about 50-60 gal since I use my RO water for my humidifier too, and not just my tank). Even starting at 15 seems out of whack to me, but I'm not an expert on the subject at all.

Now, for my DI resin, it depleted (changes color and TDS creeps up) after only a week or two as well, i'm guessing that's due to high CO2 since I'm on well water. I know I can store RO water, drop in an air stone/pump to increase the O2 (or decrease the CO2?) and then pump it through my DI filter, but I really don't have the space to do that, so it's not an option.

So, now on to my question, should I just scrap my existing RO/DI system and get something like BRS's 7 stage system? I'm leaning towards the 7 stage specifically because the DI resins are kept separately and I can just replace what's needed. OR, maybe I should change up my filters in the system itself?

Oh, and the details on my current system are:
-AWI Typhoon III, 5 stage system
-RO membrane is a Spectrapure
-Sediment filter is GE 1micron
-Carbon filters are 5 micron, then 1 micron
-BRS color changing DI resin (I do refill my DI cartridges)
-Aquatec 8800 booster pump (my pressure is around 80 all the time)

FactoryKTMmotocross46

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do you flush the ro membrane periodically and do you purge the system for a few minutes before running it through the di resin? I would look at the rated rejection rate percentage of you membrane to verify it is working correctly.

FactoryKTMmotocross46