what is the bare minimal cost to upgrade to salt water?

fotonikt

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hey guys, i have been keeping fresh water fishtanks for allmost 4 years now and i allways wanted to try salt water, i have a 240 liter (60 gallon) fish tank, i'm not gonna start off with corals, as i wanna start out just seeing if i can maintain just regular salt water fish first, so my question is what is the cost of going bare minimum to change to salt water, seeing as i dont want live coral (yet) and what would i need to keep just the fish for now? thx guys

ichthyogeek

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well...what do you have on hand at the moment aside from the tank? You can upcycle a lot of things used in freshwater, especially if you don't plan on having corals/photosynthetic stuff. List everything you've got, and then I (we?) can fill in the gaps.

One of the things you'll need right off the bat is salt.

Flippers4pups

Fins up since 1993
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Polish_20200506_011127297.jpg

Basics:

Salt.
RO/DI unit.
Refractometer to measure salt.
Test kits to test water.
Dry rock.
Aragonite sand.
Skimmer to remove proteins from the water.
Powerheads for water movement.

Around $600-$800 for basics.

codycolina707

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hey guys, i have been keeping fresh water fishtanks for allmost 4 years now and i allways wanted to try salt water, i have a 240 liter (60 gallon) fish tank, i'm not gonna start off with corals, as i wanna start out just seeing if i can maintain just regular salt water fish first, so my question is what is the cost of going bare minimum to change to salt water, seeing as i dont want live coral (yet) and what would i need to keep just the fish for now? thx guys
Main thing would be a skimmer and maybe some powerheads can reuse freshwater hob filter something to measure the salt in the water and probably gonna need some rocks