Where do you get your stuff in the area?

jhook

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone! I’m new to saltwater, been doing freshwater for around 30 years or so. Where do ya’ll get your saltwater stuff around Huntsville? I’ve been to Aquatic Cove in Madison, but that’s about all I know around here.
I’m in the process of turning my 240 gallon freshwater tank into a Reef tank and I’m really excited to get started. Looking to do a mixed reef tank, lightly stocked with fish. I’m thinking of buying the dry live rock from BRS and making a few formations out of it for the corals and fish. Any advice on getting/buying actual live rock to get started with the seeding of my tank? Any tips or tricks are appreciated!

CrimsonTide

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you wanted real live rock you can order it from gulfliverock.com most people buy dead rock from like CaribSea and seed their tank with live bacteria. Welcome to the hobby. I'm in Birmingham so don't know all the cool places up there. It will probably take a while to cycle a 240gallon but thats a great size for a reef tank. Theres a bunch of cool reefers in Huntsville that will help you out and let me know if u need anything im not far away. If you're going to lightly stock your 240 i suggest fish that don't like to hide or you'll never see them in that thing. Enjoy!

HAWK44

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0