Ready to roll - EVO 13.5

BristolEVO

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,

I've been stalking these forums for a few months and slowly gathering up all the things I want to start up a Fluval EVO 13.5. Hoping to do a leak test and get the store bought water in it today! One thing from the pic I forgot is the 3dOcean chamber 1 and 2 media baskets. And floss etc. This will be my first salt tank!

tank1.jpg

Last edited:

WalkerLovesTheOcean

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looks like you're off to a great start! One suggestion I have for you is to use live rock, that you buy wet. You can order it online or maybe your lfs has some. It will help you alot as your tank matures!

OP
OP
BristolEVO

BristolEVO

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looks like you're off to a great start! One suggestion I have for you is to use live rock, that you buy wet. You can order it online or maybe your lfs has some. It will help you alot as your tank matures!
Thanks! Won't this dry rock eventually turn into the relative equivalent of the wet rock I'd buy? Many months later? I'm liking the benefit of no bad hitch hikers at this early stage.

Rjukan

Broken
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I suggest to rinse the sand very well before you use it. Sooo much fine particulate in there, takes a while to rinse it clear but it's worth it.

OP
OP
BristolEVO

BristolEVO

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I suggest to rinse the sand very well before you use it. Sooo much fine particulate in there, takes a while to rinse it clear but it's worth it.
What's the best way to rinse? Collander is too open and I'll be there all day with coffee filters. Or dump and swish it in a bucket and keep changing the water? My tap water has high chlorine and other garbage so I'm hesitant to get that water near anything with this tank and kill off the live sand.

Rjukan