Can't get mushrooms to stay happy!

Mattie H.

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm a newbie. My tank is six months old. Levels are and always have been really good. Tests show barely any nitrates (but healthy algae growth so it's there, just controlled I guess). I had abnormally low magnesium for a while but I cured that with a BRS magnesium mix a few weeks ago. Started stocking at three months. Fish are healthy, inverts are healthy.

Problem is, I bought some green mushrooms about six weeks ago. They were good for about three weeks, but then shrunk to almost nothing and haven't come back again. They're not in direct light. I moved them one time to a different spot in the tank to see if that would help. Nope. Now, my green hairy mushroom is also looking bad. Got him three weeks ago. Also shaded. Looked great for the first two weeks. Now he looks horrible as well, has had a big open mouth for the past two weeks.

What the heck am I doing wrong? I thought these were supposed to be the most forgiving of the softies?

Before:
20170114_193202.jpg

20161210_151917.jpg

Now:
20170131_204619.jpg

20170122_203934.jpg

Help! Any suggestions or advice would be very much appreciated. Thanks!

Travis Stewart

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What's your salinity? How are you checking it? How many fish and how often are you feeding? Tell us about the tank. Filtration? Equipment?

ironman20725

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would go to YouTube and look up tidal gardens! He is the best I've ever seen growing corals and has a ton of videos

OP
OP
Mattie H.

Mattie H.

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What's your salinity? How are you checking it? How many fish and how often are you feeding? Tell us about the tank. Filtration? Equipment?
Right on.

Temp 78.4
SG 1.025
pH 8.1
Ammonia 0
Nitrites 0
Nitrates less than 5
PO 0
Alk 11
Ca 460
Mg 1470