Frogfish and tank

Rodan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I am pretty new to reefing but my dad knows a lot (so I will be getting help from someone with experience) . I'm getting into the hobby and were are going to get a frogfish. I have done extensive research on these guys and understand that they mainly take live food. I have no problem with this, but the frogfish I saw was so small that I really don't know what to feed it when it is that small. If anyone could tell me what they feed them when they are really small I would be grateful. I'm getting a bio cube 32 gallon tank I'm not sure how good of tank this is because I'm a bit knew to this, but if it is not a good tank someone please tell me.

Jelpin16

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How small was the frogfish?

They should take ghost shrimp which you can get quite small. All of mine have taken frozen food as well so they can be transitioned.

ISpeakForTheSeas

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If the fish really is too small to take the ghost shrimp you can get at the store, then I suppose you could offer it mysis shrimp or brine shrimp (I’d personally try the mysis or a combination of mysis and brine shrimp, as mysis has lower fat and a higher protein content, but enriched brine alone should be fine as a staple too). Once they’re sized up enough, ghost shrimp, guppies, and mollies are the current, generally recommended feeders for them.