How is this for plumbing?

AquaForge

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Here is my rough dry fit. Any advice for the layout? I’m going to have a refugium, UV and probably KW reactor so I split off a single manifold via the one valve underneath. Not sure a better way to do with the space I have. Anyway thanks in advance
IMG_2843.jpeg
IMG_2839.jpeg

mfinn

likes zoanthids
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
Thanks! Well.. I am a student of OMFGWJH HELP! school of what ifs ;)
Yeah, my first couple plumbing jobs I put valves on all the drains.
After a while I realized I never used those valves.

Rozier123

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How are you preventing a siphon overflow from the return line when the pumps are off? The return bulkhead seems to be low. A flow valve may be an option.

OP
OP
AquaForge

AquaForge

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How are you preventing a siphon overflow from the return line when the pumps are off? The return bulkhead seems to be low. A flow valve may be an option.
The outlets are near water level and above the weir. Secondary my sump is big enough to handle the pump being off with a few inches to spare (without any rock in the tank).

OP
OP
AquaForge

AquaForge

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Let’s talk about all the elbows. Two 45s do NOT work better than one 90. And if all that is dry fit, when you glue, you’re likely to have issues as the pipes will seat deeper in the sockets.
I was told to never use a 90 because they restrict flow significantly, thats why I used all the 45s. It would be much cleaner with 90s but I didnt want to restrict my pump even further.

This data is backed up by this research paper:

KStatefan

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0