Ich or Velvet?

Instigate

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm not experienced enough to tell. Does this look like ich or velvet? I'm leaning towards velvet from looking at other photos. I've got him and a Yellow Watchman Goby in a 20g QT. Dosed a 1/4 dose of copper power so far. Both fish were clean when I got them yesterday. The Goby eats if I squirt the food right at him but he's too timid to come out too much around the CBB. But the CBB eats like a pig thankfully. Some video is uploading.

cbb1.jpg
cbb2.jpg
cbb3.jpg

OP
OP
I

Instigate

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Any other symptoms? Breathing heavy, hiding from light, swimming into a powerhead or other flow, twitching, flashing?
Not hiding from light, not breathing heavy, not swimming into flow. I have observed some head twitching.

Big G

captain dunsel
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not hiding from light, not breathing heavy, not swimming into flow. I have observed some head twitching.
I'm leaning Ich. Few spots and large not small like velvet. Twitching would be the parasites attacking the gills and annoying your beautiful CBB.
Be thankful your CBB is eating - rare to find one eating. So it's ramp up slowly the copper. Small doses AM, lunch, PM, rather than one big daily dose. Feed high quality foods rich with protein and vitamins. Be on the look out for a secondary bacterial infection. Those bacterial infections go sideways real fast with CBBs. Do you have a broad spectrum antibiotic on hand? Some have found Ruby Reef Rally as a good initial bath to ward off and or treat early bacterials. Or a stronger medication like nitrofuracine green powder if you even begin to see one of those red spots startup. Time will be your enemy. And few CBBs respond once a bacterial starts up.

OP
OP
I

Instigate

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0