New 75g Reef Set Up - Questions on Equipment

TheSilentHero

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello Reef2Reef community, this is my first time posting but I've been following some of the threads on here for a few months now.

I've been keeping fish (freshwater community and cichlids) for about the past 15 or so years and I'm about to dive into saltwater and reef keeping for the first time. When I first wanted to start this endeavor 5 years ago, I started reading a number of books (Robert Fenner's The Conscientious Marine Aquarist for one) and recently have looked through revhtree's The Supreme Guide To Setting Up A Saltwater Reef Aquarium. My problem comes with even though I have the basic "set up" knowledge as described by these resources, many of these previous articles and resources seem to be outdated with technology and previous brands that may have been "top of the line" may not be so anymore.

Right now, all I have is a 75 gallon tank (not drilled) and stand. I know I'd like to keep some soft corals and possibly LPS corals (I figure STS would be too advanced right now). With this in mind, I'm looking for recommendations on the equipment I'd need and some recommendations on brands/models for them?

Starting off with the filtration, I know I'll need a HOB Overflow due to my tank being tempered glass (I can't drill it). Any recommendations on brands here? I'd like to have a sump/refugium below the stand. What is your take on creating your own from an old tank vs. buying one (like a Trigger Systems Sump - http://www.marinedepot.com/Trigger_...-Trigger_Systems_LLC-6E81644-FIFRBSCU-vi.html) .