Red Sea Pro Alk test kit. Does this thing suck?

roger saltwaters

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have the aforementioned product. I can't make heads or tails out of its results. Color just gradually changes from the start color to a bland orange. Impossible to really determine anything based on this. Is there a better way? Or what am I doing wrong?

p7willm

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have that test and I have trouble with any test that requires you to match colors. I'm not very good at it and I always wonder if I got it right.

I am thinking of getting the Hanna test. No idea how accurate it is but it gives a number without having to match colors.

jabell

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I agree that this is not a good test for alkalinity. I like most of their other tests but this one is impossible to tell the end point. I don't get a color like this video shows. Mine just turns a dull peach color slowly.

shoelaceike

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have the same issue. I sent pics to Red Sea and they said that the color is not normal and they sent a new one. The new one is the same. I have no such issues with cal and mag. Just alk

scardall

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How much test reagent it takes to get to end color. Then match this to the chart. Add drop, then swirl until you reach end color.

Last edited:

Curtismaximus

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have the same issue. Love the Cal and Mg but the Alk is almost worthless. I have an idea of where my Alk is but I have no idea what the exact reading is. Im going to buy a Salifert kit, I have read that they are eadier to read.

cmcoker

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0