Refugiums really do work, but can they work too well?

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

randyBRS

BRStv Host :-)
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys!

We're back with another episode of 52FAQ and this week Ryan provides a different perspective on the common term "nutrients", while answering the question of whether a refugium can completely strip a tank of them.

So, what do you think? Can a fuge create a ULNS or even strip a tank of all nutrients?

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Another great video! This is one thing that I am worried about with my fuge I am just getting started.

obct537

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As a self-described greenhorn, this video gives me a headache :p I've recently been struggling to keep my tank relatively free of brown hair algae, and, after using GFO, and conservative feeding, I've finally started to "win" that fight. Now you're telling me I need to get the nutrients back up!?

I love this hobby, but it seems like, no matter what I'm doing, I'm always doing it wrong lol

DarkSky

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My SPS were pale for several months, I started dosing NO3 (stump remover) weekly and have noticed a huge improvement in coloration in my tank. My PO4 was always non-zero while my NO3 was zero, now I'm noticing detectable levels of NO3 (salifert test kit, no longer clear) and my ULR Hanna phosphate checker reading have been much lower.

I however do not have a refugium, instead I opted to use two marine pure blocks in the section I built for my macro algae.

20 gallon nano

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0