Zoa/Paly Guidance.....because my wife said I cannot sell myself

henryhahn

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It all started so innocently, I am new to reefing, so I was perusing google images for the many colored zoa/paly. I wanted to have some names in mind for when I go shopping. I really liked:
Hallucinations
Bowsers
Shazams
Rastas
Eagle Eyes
Yellow Brick Road
Karkatoa
Whammin Watermelon
Rainbow Fruit Loops
:eek:Then I saw the prices....:eek:
Well, after I talked over my options with my wife ;) I was wondering if there were any, less expensive, options that would provide varied colors in the tank. Most at the LFSs here are grey or muddy brown. They have occasional colors in the center, but they are pretty plain. It may be why they are much less expensive. $150+ per polyp is out of my league.
Any guidance would be much appreciated! I had seen some pretty blue ones that were just called blue zoanthids. Perhaps they are not nearly as expensive?
Tubs%20Blue%20Zoanthids-9-700x700.jpg

mcarroll

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The nice corals get cherry-picked out of the wholesale supply chain before your LFS ever gets a chance to look at them.

You have that system to thank for the insane prices and lack of availability.

mcarroll

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Your best bet is to stop shopping for corals that way.....online pics are purely deceiving anyway. Corals never look in person like they look in a pic....for lots of different reasons.

You're better off shopping at the LFS and picking what you like from there.

For what it's worth, most of those grey/brown colonies will color up a bit....they've been in non-ideal conditions for who knows how long.

azbigjohn

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0