A Capital Dream - 400g SPS build

rockworm

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I call this thread A Capital Dream because I live in Ottawa, Canada's capital. I have lived here for 23 years. However, I grew up on the east coast of Canada, near the ocean. I lived 45 minutes from Shediac, the lobster capital of the world. There were great beaches there, and I came to love the smell and feel of the saltwater. It did not mean anything to me until I started a saltwater aquarium.

I have a build thread on another site, but am remiss in not sharing the build with the R2R community. I appreciate input from other reefers, because I know I won't think of everything and advice from experience is always helpful. I will borrow heavily from that thread, so some may have already seen what is to come.

I started the build in May, so there is a little catchup required to bring me to today.

I have been playing with saltwater aquariums since 2006. I have had both mixed reefs and FOWLR. I currently have a 220g reef which is primarily SPS. My wife and I decided to go for a dream tank and a 400g fit the bill.

The current tank is a 220g SPS tank that has been running for two years. I will be taking this tank down after the 400g build and livestock transfer is complete.

This is an older pic but serves to illustrate what I currently have.

The tank is on the main level with the sump in the basement. The sump consists of two tanks: a 90g which is a refugium and catch for the external skimmer discharge and a 65g which houses reactors and additional bio media.

Current equipment list:

Tank: std 220g - 72" x 24"x 30"
Light: 3 250w radiums in lumnbright mini reflectors powered by coralvue dimmable ballast (150 - 250w) set to 250w hqi and 72" Reefbrite XHO Blue led
Protein skimmer: Reeflo Orca 250 pro (rated for 800g)
Return pump: Reeflo Hammerhead/Barracuda Gold Hybrid with hammerhead impeller.
PH: Maxspect Gyre 150 + Tunze 6101
Controller: Profilux 3ex