Cat shark biological filtration

dillon lif

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,
I am looking to get a juvenile coral cat shark for my 75 gallon saltwater aquarium then move him to my 240 gallon. I have very little experience with sharks especially in smaller tanks. The 75 gallon where he will only be for a short amount of time has 15 lbs of live rock so he has room to swim and a fluval 207 canister filter as well as a fluval aqua clear for 100 gal tanks. The shark will be on the only fish in this tank(might as well call it a setup tank). Both filter have full bags of bio media for biological filtering as well. I’m not looking to do a full sump with this tank and really not looking to add a protein skimmer unless absolutely required because this tank will be in a quieter place of the house and they can get quite loud. I guess the question I’m asking Is does this setup tank have enough biological filtration to replace the use of a protein skimmer? ( again shark will be moved into a 240 in the future). Biological filtration- light on coral chunks for sharks underbelly so it’s a finer grain sand mostly, 1lb of fluval bio max total, and 11 lbs of live rock. Thank you and I’m open to all suggestions because I’m not an expert in sharks.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
You want good chemical and biological balance as they don’t tolerate changes in water quality especially nitrates and are susceptible to bacteria issues so water quality is of importance

OP
OP
D

dillon lif

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You want good chemical and biological balance as they don’t tolerate changes in water quality especially nitrates and are susceptible to bacteria issues so water quality is of importance
Gotcha, so what I’m hearing is it wouldn’t be a bad idea to add more biological filtration. Especially because this is a smaller tank.